Christan Bush and Bert Smith

Supt. Bert Smith and a cadre of well-wishers descended upon Ware County High School Teacher Christan Bush’s classroom today to surprise her with the news that she has been selected as the District’s Teacher of the Year! Mrs. Bush is eligible to advance  to the state level of competition for Georgia Teacher of the Year. She was both shocked and delighted to learn that her application had been selected by a committee of readers from the pool of deserving Ware County educators, including: 

Daffodil Pre-K: Heather Tomlinson
Center Elementary: Pam Perritt
Memorial Drive: Trina Dill
Ruskin: Marika Briggs
Wacona: Shonair Heard
Waresboro: Christy Flowers
Williams Heights: Jennifer Cox
Ware Middle: Hollie Hay
Waycross Middle: Jamie Chaney
Ware County High: Christan Bush 

These teachers, who were selected by their peers to serve as the Teacher of the Year for their school, will serve on the Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Council for the 2022-2023 school year and will be recognized on the field for their accomplishments at Memorial Stadium during pre-game at the September 23rd football game. 

Congratulations on your selection as District Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Bush! We are so proud of you and appreciate the difference you and your colleagues make!