School Board Members

Ware County Schools is joining in a statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members during School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia March 14 - 18, 2022. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

“Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district,” said Supt. Bert Smith. “Our board spends countless
hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system.”

The men and women serving our school district and their years of service are:

Alisa "Toni" Nelson - 2 years of service
Barry Deas - 14 years of service
Denton Dial - 12 years of service
Dee Meadows - 8 years of service
Rusty Ganas - 12 years of service
Karen Ethridge - 2 years of service
Edward "Buster" Tyre - 10 years of service

 As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing the superintendent to provide buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy, and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education. Please visit for more information.