Milestone Resources
Milestone Resources
Stephanie King
Wednesday, March 06, 2019

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones or GMAS) is a all-inclusive cumulative assessment spanning grades 3 through high school. It measures how well students are mastering the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. 

All students at WCMS will take this end-of-grade assessment in English Language Arts and Mathematics, while students in 8th grade will be also assessed in Science and Social Studies. GMAS provides students, families, and teachers with critical information about students’ achievement and their readiness for the next level of learning. It also informs all stakeholders about the quality of educational opportunity provided at WCMS and throughout the state of Georgia.  

The GMAS includes:

§  open-ended (constructed-response) items in English Language Arts and Mathematics

§  a writing component (in response to passages read by students) within the English Language Arts assessment

§  norm-referenced items in all content areas, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison 

§  technology-enhanced items including multiple part/multiple answer, graphing, drag and drop 

Students will assess online unless specified in an IEP or 504. For more information about these assessments, please read the Georgia Milestones EOG Assessment Guides and Georgia Milestones EOG Content Weights.

Georgia Milestone Information