Alert: All Ware County Schools will dismiss early on August 21, 2017 due to the solar eclipse. Students will be served breakfast and a brown bag lunch prior to early dismissal. DAFFODIL Pre-K will release at 10:30am, followed by Center Elementary at 10:40am. All other elementary schools and the Ware County Learning Center will dismiss at 11:00am. Both middle schools will dismiss at 11:45am, and the high school will release at 12:15pm. Staff Members will be released once all students have vacated the building. We anticipate that students, drivers, and staff members will be home no later than 2:00pm. The peak of the eclipse is anticipated to occur at 2:44 PM. Afternoon practices such as band, volleyball, softball, football, etc. at all schools will meet inside until 3:20 PM, after which practice may be moved outside. If you have any questions, please call your child's principal.
Close alert
Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Ruskin Elementary NEHS Gives to Waycross House of Hope

Recently, Ruskin Elementary's National Elementary Honor Society members could be seen scurrying about the building busily collecting and keeping tally of the donations brought in by students during their 2nd annual "Hands of Hope" drive. The NEHS group took up the cause of supporting the Waycross House of Hope by collecting various non-perishable food and personal hygiene items. The response from the school was tremendous, and Ruskin students showed that they love their community and are willing to do their part to give others hope in times of need. 


The Waycross House of Hope offers emergency help to people who need it. It is located at 109 Thomas Street in Waycross. House of Hope is a nonprofit organization (501-3C) that follows federal guidelines and helps anyone in need who meets income and other limited requirements. 


Principal Donna Solomon expressed that she is pleased to see students at Ruskin get involved with helping others in the community. 


Pictured (L-R): NEHS Adviser Tammy Gardner, Austin P., Sirona H., Gavin B., Clayton L., Lillian G., Carolina M., Matthew R., House of Hope representative Pam Altman, and House of Hope Director Adela Davis.


House of Hope 1



Pictured (L-R): NEHS Adviser Tammy Gardner, Marysa T., Synia W., Zander T., Trinti H., Raygan D., Zymere C., Alexia H., Lillie K., House of Hope representative Pam Altman, and House of Hope Director Adela Davis.


House of Hope 2


Back to School News      Print News Article