Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Special Week Honors Georgia's School Board Members

The Ware County School District is joining in a statewide celebration this week to salute the efforts of local school board members. The week of March 13-17, 2017, has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education. “Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district,” said Superintendent Jim L. LeBrun.  


“Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system, and their efforts show in the accolades our schools receive from state and federal accountability agencies. School boards represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education,” LeBrun noted. “It is critical that our citizens have the opportunity to elect a voice to represent them in educational matters.” 


The men and women serving our school district and their years of service are: Chair Franklin L. Pinckney, Sr. - 16 years, Vice Chair Mr. Dee Meadows - 2 years, Barry Deas - 8 years, Mr. Rusty Ganas - 6 years, Mr. Denton Dial - 6 years, Mr. Edward Tyre - 4 years, and Ms. Oneida Oliver-Sanders - 12 years. 


As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.  


The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education. Please visit gsba.com for more information.  


Back Row L-R: Mr. Rusty Ganas, Mr. Edward L. Tyre, Mr. Denton Dial, Mr. Barry Deas
Front Row L-R: Vice Chairman Mr. Dee Meadows, Chairman Mr. Franklin L. Pinckney, Sr., Ms. Oneida Oliver-Sanders


School Board Members

Back to School News      Print News Article