Alert: All Ware County Schools will dismiss early on August 21, 2017 due to the solar eclipse. Students will be served breakfast and a brown bag lunch prior to early dismissal. DAFFODIL Pre-K will release at 10:30am, followed by Center Elementary at 10:40am. All other elementary schools and the Ware County Learning Center will dismiss at 11:00am. Both middle schools will dismiss at 11:45am, and the high school will release at 12:15pm. Staff Members will be released once all students have vacated the building. We anticipate that students, drivers, and staff members will be home no later than 2:00pm. The peak of the eclipse is anticipated to occur at 2:44 PM. Afternoon practices such as band, volleyball, softball, football, etc. at all schools will meet inside until 3:20 PM, after which practice may be moved outside. If you have any questions, please call your child's principal.
Close alert
Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Waresboro Elementary Hold NEHS Induction

Waresboro Elementary recently held its National Elementary Honor Society Induction Ceremony, during which 19 students received the prestigious honor of being recognized for their scholarship, responsibility, leadership, and service. Students who are inducted into NEHS must have a 93 overall average and receive positive recommendations from their teachers.


Among those in attendance to celebrate this achievement were many parents, grandparents and former retired educators. Ryder Rouse, former Waresboro Eagle and current South Georgia State college student, delivered the keynote speech. Ryder encouraged students to do the right thing even when no one is looking, for this is what determines one's true character. Current NEHS members spoke of the qualities that one must possess as a member. Inductees then took their membership pledge, and the ceremony concluded with the traditional lighting of the candles representing scholarship, responsibility, leadership, and service.


NEHS members are led by advisors Lisa Thrift and Sarah Smith. Dr. Jenny Barnes stated that she is always so proud of the National Elementary Honor Society inductees not only because of their academic achievement but for the characteristics, such as responsibility, leadership and service, that will help them become successful in life.

Pictured Front (1st Row): Kamani G., Kayden S., Luci T. and Skylar S. (2nd Row): Montez M., Grayson T., Bradley P., Gavin M., Kylee A., Raleigh T., Fredriana C., Hailey B., Nathan B.t and Rasheem B. (3rd Row): Candace A., Ramsey R., Alyvia L., Rylee M., Emporess M., Charlacia J., Thomas J. Jr., Reese Ro., Markell C. and Matthew D. Back (4th Row): Anna P., Logan R., Spencer R., Gavin B., Bailey B.t and Jordan R. (Not Pictured): Shyanne L., Shelia M. and Kaidence T.


NEHS Induction

Back to School News      Print News Article