Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Ware County Schools Earn Distinction of Being Title I Rewards Schools

The Georgia Department of Education has released the FY18 list of Title I Reward Schools, and all nine eligible Ware County schools are Title I Rewards Schools! 


Once again, Center Elementary and Williams Heights Elementary have earned Highest-Performing School honors. A Highest-Performing School is among the five percent of the state’s Title I schools with the absolute highest performance, over three years, for the “all students” group on the statewide assessments.


Memorial Drive Elementary, Ruskin Elementary, Wacona Elementary, Waresboro Elementary, Ware County Middle, Waycross Middle, and Ware County High have gained distinction as High-Progress Schools. A High-Progress school is among the 10 percent of the state’s Title I schools making the most progress in improving the performance of the “all students” group over three years on the statewide assessments.


Principals were honored with a bruncheon to celebrate their schools' successes. Ware County Superintendent Jim LeBrun thanked the principals for their dedication to the Ware County School System and the students and staff they serve.


“These schools and districts are overcoming obstacles to provide an excellent education for their students,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “This is so much more than numbers or data. We are talking about changed lives for thousands of students. I can’t overstate how proud I am of every teacher, administrator, and parent who worked to make that happen.”


Pictured are school and district leaders representing the hundreds of Ware County employees and students whose hard work brought this recognition to the district.


Pictured left to right: (bottom row) David Hitt, Bert Smith, Superintendent Jim L.  LeBrun, Harold McClain, John Chancey, (top row) Dr. Jenny Barnes, Staci Smallwood, Dr. Wendy Good, Donna Solomon, Dr. Linda Houseal, Charlotte Taylor, Director of Federal Programs Dean Moody, and Dr. Darlene Tanner


Title I Rewards School Principals

Back to School News      Print News Article